A passion for software development, cooking and Porsches

Porsche 911 (964) Rocker Panel Repair

I blew a tire out on my 911 on the freeway last week. Thanks you AAA, but it was a chance to pull the rims, get them powder coated, cool new tires and replace the trim molding in my rocker panels. Once I inspected them, I realized that the PO had removed the bolts to the supports, lost them and not secured a number of fasteners. Sloppy stuff. So ordered the new clips and cleaned everything up as a lot of crap accumulates under the rockers and the passenger side also has the oil cooler lines which turned out to be very gunked up. The process is simple to remove them, but the plastic is still 23 years old and it has some damage in the clips. I will cover how to jbweld those in the next post. I cleaned everything and then painted the black areas. BTW, OEM is Wurth Satin black, but I did that and a little clear coat for looks.

Image

Image

Image

In the drying booth with Kitty…

Image

Leave a comment